Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


What is ‘Fan Art’?

Back in the day when I was just a young whipper-snapper, I used to draw way more often. Most of my work was copies or imitations of art or characters that I liked. I would deviate very little from the original source or reference material. To me this was fan art. Over the years I have found little satisfaction in mimicking others until recent. It seems to me that if I am going to reproduce characters from others people’s material that I should add some of own creative flair. That is what fan art is, the use of a creative work from another reproduced with your own style and/or personal alterations. Of course one should be forward about what you are doing and not pass it off as “original”.

Art is Reflection

I feel strongly that an artist that is passionate about a personal piece is going to offer the viewer a window into their mind. When I have trouble sorting out my thoughts I like to draw. The end result can sometime reveal my inner thoughts and help me find what I was looking for. Deep? I’m not too sure. I think this is a coping mechanism to help organize an otherwise unorganized thought process.

To help make this visual I will share part 2 of  3 part project. As of late I have felt in a rut of sorts, routine is comforting but also unsettling. I know it sound contradictory but it how I feel none the less. Truth be told I am not happy at my job most of the time and home life is good but it is 24/7 action packed with three little kids and a busy schedule.

C&H FF7

Inked and colored pencil by hand.
(First time using colored pencils in over 6 years)

I finished this piece and it dawned that I lack adventure in my life. I recently went to a comic convention in Chicago and that was a blast.  With the website moving slow and our podcast only in its infancy I desire to go on an adventure. Who better knows adventure, in pure form, other than Calvin and Hobbes? Of course, Final Fantasy is also adventure and excitement. This tells me that I want to do this independent thing, creating art and entertainment even more than I thought. I look forward to the day that I can do this while supporting my family but for now it will remain a desire on paper.

Thank you for reading,

Tom Dorsey

