Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


8 bit BannerTo be honest dear readers, I had not even learned about Infinite Comics until about two months ago. This will not sound so surprising after you know that I have only owned my first tablet since January. I have always loved comics but with my connections to collectors and my ability to return items in mint condition I have not really had to buy many. As a kid the only comics I owned were Far Side and Calvin and Hobbes. This was usually where my interests lied back them. As I got older graphic novels, manga and “traditional” comics started to interest me much more. Now days I cannot get enough but my funds are very limited and as a father I have higher priorities. Combine this with the fact that I knew I would have a tablet the moment that Apple announced the iPad and I started having Star Trek themed dreams for years. The result was that when I finally got a tablet I jumped on the digital comic band wagon as quickly as possible.

It was not long after that when I caught wind about Marvel’s ‘Infinite Comics’. I had already started downloading as many free digital comics as I could read. I have become very fond of “free-comic-day” on Comixology. This is not how I discovered ‘Infinite Comics’ though. As a listener of various podcasts I caught wind of them while listening to ‘Comic Dorks’, a FrogPants podcast production, with hosts; Scott Johnson, Stephen Schleicher, Scott Kurtz, & Marc Spagnuolo. The term had me courious so I read up on it a little and thought it sounded interesting. I decided if I came across one I would check it out.

4f5c37ff0e7c6Last week I go that chance when I got issues 1 & 2 of the new “Guardians of the Galaxy” from the Comixology android app.  I will not get into the comic itself since I will be writing a full review tomorrow but I will tell you about my first experience reading in this format.

I actually did not know it was an ‘Infinite Comic’ until I started to read it. This was sort of fun since I had already experienced the digital version of a standard comic. I enjoy the standard version since I can read it as I please and I can also utilize the panel-to-panel navigation when I feel lazy. When I came into this new style it threw me off for a couple of panels. It did not take long to adjust and after that I found it to be rather pleasant.

marvel-offers-guardians-of-the-galaxy-infinit-L-kOWJXkLet’s take a moment to step back and look at the start of this new format. ‘Infinite Comics’ was introduced by Marvel a year ago at South by Southwest. The idea was to take advantage of the digital comic medium and move it in a new direction to enhance the reading experience. In short Marvel wanted to raise the bar, try something new and giver readers a product that is engaging. I feel that this was successful since it has been a year and they are still coming out with new stuff. Now, I may have just jumped in at a good point, and there may be some bad variations of this out there but so far I like it. I will continue to love the traditional comic format but I can see so much potential from a creative standpoint. Besides as an inspiring artist and overall lover of art I am a sucker for presentation, so long as comic creators continue to present this line in an appealing way I will continue to read it.

Like what you see here? Let us know in the comments or follow us on Twitter or like the Animockery Facebook page by clicking the links at the bottom of the page.

Thank you for reading,

Tom Dorsey – a.k.a. Animockery

