Tags

, , , , , ,


slymixtape cover artIf you’re a Harry Potter fan and you like rap, you’ve got to check this out. I know what you’re thinking. Harry Potter and rap go together like peanut butter and motor oil. Well get ready for a peanut butter and motor oil sandwich because Adam WarRock and Mikal kHill have released their full length album titled The Slytherin House Mixtape. It is fantastic. Need more of a reason to give this album a try? WarRock and kHill are offering the download for FREE. Head on over to the Slytherin Mixtape website and experience the music for yourself.

I’m pretty sure I don’t have the credentials to write a review that would do the music justice. So I won’t. What I will do is tell you why this mixtape strikes a chord with me. Chord…hey, that’s a music term. Maybe I am qualified. Anyway, I use to listen to a lot of rap. Then I stopped. Reason: I just couldn’t relate to what the rapper’s were rapping about. I wasn’t vested in the subject matter. The Slytherin Mixtape presents a unique musical experience. WarRock and kHill are rapping about something that I actually care about. I’m not the biggest Harry Potter fan. However, the Potter saga represents the types of stories I get lost in. Thankfully, the mixtape is not soft and it’s not a parody. There is intensity behind the lyrics and that’s a difference maker for me.

There are two tracks I’m particularly fond of. House of Black condenses the life of Sirius Black into a 2 minute and 46 second track. Lyrically, the song is very strong. It makes me appreciate the complexities of the Sirius Black character more than I had before. Unforgivable (Bellatrix’s Theme) was a real surprise. “Love to her is an unforgivable curse because it’s strange the way it hurts”. This song actually makes me feel sympathy towards a character that’s easy to despise.

The Slytherin House Mixtape is a nice alternative sound track to the original score. It seamlessly integrates itself into the Potter universe. Lend your support to Adam WarRock and Mikal kHill. Go download the Slytherin House Mixtape. I’m confident you’ll enjoy it as much as I have.

Full Cover

