Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Teenage_Mutant_Ninja_Turtles_-_1989_-_Ultra_Software

After the dust of Harry’s Batman party I started thinking about Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, more specifically I thought about the new TMNT movie planned for 2014. This got me thinking about the old comics by Kevin Eastman & Peter Laird. Of course I went on to Comixology to see if I could find these and instead I found a free copy of the TMNT #1 from Eastman, Waltz and Duncan published by IDW. I poked around to see what is going on with this movie before I did anything turtle related, It turns out that Eastman and Laird are together  again to write the characters for the upcoming movie. I think that with Michael Bay as one of the producers and Jonathan Liebesman (Wrath of the Titans & Battle Los Angles) as Director this could be good. I will probably keep my eyes on this one for some time and I will be sure to keep you all posted too. That all said I will now share my TMNT related actives for the day.

The Comic

coverI have always been a TMNT Comic fan, I was never able to read every single one but those that I did has been so long ago that it has nearly faded from memory completely. Since I found this to be alarming I fired up the trusty Comixology app and went looking. I was able to find the ones I was looking for but I decided to try something different for now. I snagged the free TMNT #1 from IDW to see if I would like it, and I do! The artwork is excellent but then Eastman is still there so I was not TeenageMutantNinjaTurtles_01_cvrDdisappointed. From what I gather it is a re-boot and we are seeing the same old characters we love with some of the primary traits we are familiar with. Since I only got this first issue I am not able to say who much of the original integrity remains but I will have a chance to see since there is plenty to read.

After I get caught up on the IDW TMNT I will travel back to the old days and get the digital copies of the original. I hope to dig in and does a comparison piece fur some real fun

The show

Ninja_Turtles,_The_Next_Mutation

As a kids I have several fond memories of 80s cartoons and TMNT is in my top three without a doubt in mind. All of the turtle stuff on the brain had me wishing I could watch them again and since I do not have them on DVD it was off to Netflix to see if they have gotten wise and started streaming it. To no surprise at all I was not able to find it. On the plus side I did find a dusty old nugget not known to all. Many remember the Turtles big screen run in the early 90s, but not everyone remembers Seban’s (best known for Power Rangers) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The next Mutation. This show was very similar to Power Rangers in ways and only lasted one season, it was also not animated. Of course after finding this I have to watch the entire series.  I am only four episodes in so I will spare any details but I will see every one of them and I will do a full review after I am done, there will be spoiler… bite me its from the 90s.

Splinter

TMNT: Next Mutation screenshot I pulled tonight just for this post.

So, Turtles right?

This now has me in full-blown TMNT nostalgia. This means I will be reading comics, playing games and watching shows/movies so do not be surprised if you see some more Turtle related posts. Overall I am already having a blast with this so I think I may pound out some art for this too. Some of this art may be available on stuff for free via a contest I will have to see what my limits are on depiction, after all I wont be doing it for a profit.

Thank you for reading,

Tom (dude, that is going to take some getting used to!)

