Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


I am very picky about what shows or movies that I like to re-watch. I have my go-to entertainment that will never fail to entertain me but as for old shows I like to try and re live I can hit some major dilemmas. There are so many factors to consider that it can become overwhelming.  I often have to think about the various pros and cons of which show to choose. Movies on the other hand are easy, I get one other person on board with a movie I want to see and I am there with popcorn in hand. Good examples would be “Labyrinth”, “Dark Crystal”, “Pulp Fiction”, “Tombstone” or “Last Man Standing” are just some of my all time favorites that I can watch over and over again. I would continue the list but it would get a little long. Back to the shows or series that I liked, it get difficult. Like I said it can be weighted by many factors but I have broken it down to a good system, I call it the “Awesome to Hours Comparison Theory”.

The idea is to set a rating scale for awesomeness that you can use for each series you are considering. This is done before considering the length of the show to keep the rating pure and true. I typically go with the trusty scale of 1 to 10 rating system. Next step is to weigh this rating against the time it will take to re-watch the entire series. Now this part is important since not applying this rule will undo the process, this method only applies to series that have are no longer running and have less seasons (for those outside the us replace the word season with series) than you have been alive. In my case most shows I have liked enough to re-visit are less than 10 years, or 10 season or 10 series, I know it can get confusing but stick with me I am almost done. I have mocked up an example below so you can get an idea of what this looks like.

The chart to the right is just and example. The idea is to judge whether or not the show is really worth the time to watch again at all. Follow the applied laws above and place your show on the scale. if it falls in the blue then it is a go. If it lands in the grey at least put it off for now, maybe you will rate it different later. When you have a a group that falls in the blue it is a simple matter of “closest to the line first”. If you have a tie then start with the shortest that way you can get some quick entertainment and move on to the next choice.

The chart has helped me save time and pain so I hope it can help you.

Thank you for reading,

Animockery

